Scouting in Northumberland is managed within local Districts. Each District has a District Commissioner who leads Scouting in their locality. The District Commissioner can provide information on Scouting across the area they have responsibility for.

Benton District

Benton District

District Commissioner: Steve Jobson

Email: steve.jobson@northumberlandscouts.org.uk

Website: www.bentonscouts.org.uk

Benton District sits within the western boundary of North Tyneside and includes Wideopen, Benton, Forest Hall, Killingworth, Holystone, Palmersville, West Allotment, Shiremoor and neighbouring villages.

As the birth place of George Stephenson the District badge depicts a locomotive from Stephensons era.

The District is growing in numbers and currently has over 250 young people regularly taking part in Scouting activities.

Blyth Valley District

Blyth Valley District

District Commissioners: Jonathon Finlay & Robbie Leese

Email: dc@blythvalleyscouts.org.uk

Website: www.blythvalleyscouts.org.uk

Facebook: www.facebook.com/blythvalleyscouts

Twitter: www.twitter.com/bvscoutdistrict

Blyth Valley Scout District covers the South East area of Northumberland and includes the towns of Cramlington and Blyth together with the villages of Seghill, Seaton Sluice and Seaton Delaval.

The District was formed in 2000 following the amalgamation of Seaton Valley and Blyth District. Currently the district operates 10 groups covering Cramlington, Blyth, Seaton Sluice and Seaton Delaval, while also operating an Explorer Scout Unit along with a successful young leader scheme. The district also boasts a fully active Network Unit and also runs the Duke of Edinburgh Award programme. Every other year the district presents its popular Gang Show.

Blyth Valley operates two campsites, one at Selby Wood, Stainton, Morpeth and the other a basic Greenfield site at Hartford, Cramlington. The district also has a camping cottage at Spylaw, Rothbury. The district has its own headquarters in Blyth and another building in Seghill

Castle Morpeth District

Castle Morpeth District

District Commissioner: Tracy Hush

Email: tracy.hush@northumberlandscouts.org.uk

Website: www.castlemorpethscouts.org.uk

Castle Morpeth Scout District Castle Morpeth is a large rural Scouting District in Northumberland County.  The area extends from Hadston and Chevington in the north-east corner, to Stannington at the south-east, Heddon-on-the-Wall in the south-west and Otterburn in the north-west.  It includes the major towns of Morpeth and Ponteland.

The District has two Explorer Scout units meeting at Ponteland and Morpeth.

City of Newcastle District

City of Newcastle District

District Commissioners:

Georgina Swan (Communications and Inclusivity)

Hayley Deeming (Programme and Activities)

Kath Tyson (Training and Safeguarding)

Oli Wall (Programme, Activities and Permits)

Tony Stephenson (Development and Gang Show)

Email: cityofnewcastle@northumberlandscouts.org.uk

Website: www.newcastlescouts.org

The City of Newcastle Scout District is co-terminus with the area covered by the Newcastle City Council.

The District was formed in 2011 by the amalgamation of the former Great North and Newcastle East Districts.

There are 18 Scout Groups in the District, most with provision for Beaver Scouts, Cub Scouts and Scouts, meeting in Brunton Park, Dinnington, East Denton, Fenham, Gosforth, Heaton, High Heaton, Jesmond, Kingston Park, Walker and Westerhope.

There are 8 Explorer Scout Units meeting in Fenham, Gosforth, Heaton, High Heaton, Jesmond, Walker and West Denton.

A Scout Network is based in Fenham and provides opportunities for the 18 — 25 year old age group to continue their Scouting and provide service within and outside the Movement.

The District Scout Active Support (Red Scarf) Unit provides a focus for those over the age of 18 to support Scouting in the District, in particular the Newcastle Gang Show and the organisation and leading of the Lookwide Walk. 

Hadrian District

Hadrian District

District Commissioner: Claire McDougle

Email: claire.mcdougle@northumberlandscouts.org.uk

Website:  www.hadrianscouts.co.uk

Dilston Campsite: dilston@hadrianscouts.co.uk

Hadrian Scout District is situated to the West of Newcastle upon Tyne and is geographically the largest District in England.

It was the location in 1908 of "Lookwide", the first ever National Scout Camp at Fourstones.

The vast majority of the District is rural yet Scouting takes place right along the Tyne valley. The main attraction is Hadrian's Wall and many Scouting visitors use the District Camp Site at picturesque Dilston.

Mid Northumberland District

Mid Northumberland District

District Commissioner: Beth Wyld

Email: beth.wyld@northumberlandscouts.org.uk

Website: www.midnorthumberlanddistrictscouts.co.uk

Mid Northumberland Scout District is a rural area with many small villages. 

Scout Groups are based in Alnwick, Felton, Amble, Longhoughton and Rothbury, with two Explorer Units taking members from all Groups. The District successfully runs the Duke of Edinburgh Award and Young Leader Scheme encouraging our young people to get involved with younger sections as well as out in the local community, as they truly are great role models.

North Northumberland District

North Northumberland District

District Commissioner: Helen Denton

Email: helen.denton@northumberlandscouts.org.uk

Website: www.northnorthumberlandscouts.org.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/nnscouts/

North Northumberland is the most northerly Scout District in England, stretching from Wooler to the town of Berwick on the River Tweed.
North Northumberland is a sparsely populated rural area with Groups serving its small villages and the important market town of Berwick.

The District has a new state of the art centre at their camp site at Ford which is available to hire.

Tynemouth District

Tynemouth District

District Commissioner: Stephanie Doughty

Email: stephanie.doughty@northumberlandscouts.org.uk

Website: www.tynemouthscouts.org.uk

Tynemouth District covers an area of North Tyneside including the towns of Tynemouth, North Shields and Wallsend together with their suburbs.

There are 12 Groups and 3 Explorer Scout Units. There is also Scouting Network with Tynemouth District and a thriving SAS Unity.

The District has its own headquarters and operate the Powburn Adventure Centre in North Northumberland

Wansbeck District

Wandbeck District

District Commissioner: Ian Ellison

Email: ian.ellison@northumberlandscouts.org.uk

Website: www.wansbeckscouts.org.uk

Scouting thrives in the Wansbeck area with Scout Groups in Newbiggin, Ashington, Guidepost and Stakeford.  There are fantastic opportunities for young people aged 6 - 25 years old to gain new skills and enjoy outdoor activities such as canoeing, climbing and adventure camps.  For more detail please visit our Website site: www.wansbeckscouts.org.uk

Whitley Bay District

Whitley Bay District

District Commissioner: Michael Munro

Email: michael.munro@northumberlandscouts.org.uk 

Website: www.whitleybayscouts.org.uk

Whitley Bay and District incorporates eleven Groups, an Explorer Unit and a Network.

Scout Groups are to be found in Cullercoats, Whitley Bay, Monkseaton and Earsdon, with each Group operating Beavers, Cubs and Scouts.

The District has its own headquarters at the entrance to Marden Quarry on The Broadway and this is where the Explorer Unit and Network meet.