Youth Commissioners

Local Youth Commissioners bring a huge number of benefits to local Scouting and help lead the work towards our Youth Shaped strategic objective. They are not the end product of the strategy; they are an enabler and champion for the Youth Shaped work locally.The role is to ensure that young people from 6 – 25 years are involved and engaged in every decision that shapes their Scouting experience locally and to empower young people to share their ideas and have a meaningful voice in planning, implementing and reviewing their programme and opportunities. Youth Commissioners work very closey with their relvant District or County Commissioner and Chair. 

Stu Bennett - County Youth Commissioner

Stu joined Scouting aged 6 as a Beaver and progressed through all the youth sections to become an adult leader. During his time as an explorer he sat on his District Executive as a youth rep for a number of years and also took an active role in regular Explorer Scout Forums. Stu's main role before becoming a Youth Comissioner was as a Media Development Manager for his district, working to promote modern day Scouting to the press and in the community. He has also volunteered previously as a Scout section assistant and and still keeps a keen interest in his local Scout group, serving on the executive committee and helping at camps and events. He has also sat on the core management team for the last two Marra Camps, taking a lead on Marketing and Communications. Outside of Scouting Stu graduated from Northumbria University with a degree in Computer Science

District Youth Commissioners


Sean Mulligan - District Youth Commissioner
Daniel Thirlaway - Deputy District Youth Commissioner
Chris Selby - Deputy District Youth Commissioner

Twitter: @TynemouthDYC / Facebook: TynemouthDYC / Email:

Whitley Bay & District

Andrew Coulson - District Youth Commissioner
Sarah Godlington - District Youth Commissioner
Kieran Horvath - District Youth Commissioner
Charlotte Seager - Deputy District Youth Commissioner
Jonny Elkin - Deputy District Youth Commissioner

Twitter: @WhitleyBayDYC / Facebook: WhitleyBayDYC / Email:

City of Newcastle

Dave Welch - District Youth Commissioner

Lewis Mooring - District Youth Commissioner

Facebook: City of Newcastle District Youth Commissioners / Email: /


Jack Clarke - District Youth Commissioner


North Northumberland

Abby Grace Burrows

Blyth Valley

Information coming soon


Information coming soon

Castle Morpeth

Information coming soon


Information coming soon

Mid Northumberland

Information coming soon